Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

QTPA Member Alert |Flood-Affected Farmers in Queensland (28/2/2013)

Flood-Affected Farmers in the Central Highlands, Rockhampton, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Western Downs and All of Logan Local Government Areas Can Now Apply for Category C Assistance, and Enhanced Disaster Loans for Primary Producers under Category D. 

The Newman Government has been able to secure additional assistance under Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA), for more Queensland primary producers.

Flood-affected farmers in the Central Highlands, Rockhampton, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Western Downs and all of Logan local government areas can now apply for Category C assistance, and enhanced disaster loans for primary producers under Category D.

Additional areas in Toowoomba and Goondiwindi Regional Councils have also been added to the current activations in those Council areas.

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry John McVeigh said the Newman Government had worked closely with industry and local councils to secure the funding.

“Category C provides clean up and recovery grants up to $25,000 for primary producers in these additional areas,” Mr McVeigh said.

“The Category D enhanced disaster loans included a grant up to $50,000, and the first two years of a loan would be interest and repayment free.

“From the third year of the loan, the new record low 1.7 per cent interest rate for disaster loans will initially apply.”

These new measures are in addition to the standard disaster loans up to $250,000 and the primary producer freight subsidies up to $5,000 available under Category B of the NDRRA.

Category C grants provide for two tiers of assistance, with Tier 1 being an initial cash grant up to $5,000 to allow immediate repair activities and a subsequent grant requiring proof of expenditure for larger scale works.

Primary producers should keep all receipts and invoices of expenditure and contact the Queensland Rural Adjustment Authority (QRAA) on 1800 623 946 to discuss eligibility.

Mr McVeigh thanked industry organisations and councils which had supplied the necessary information to build a case for Category C.

“Negotiations with the Federal Government are still ongoing on a special package of Category D measures for primary producers and the community in the worst hit areas, including assistance with clean-up, industry and financial planning advice as well as employment programs,” he said.

For more information about the Exceptional Disaster Assistance Scheme please contact QRAA on Freecall 1800 623 946.

The new areas eligible for primary producer Category C assistance and Category D loans for primary producers now include:

Central Highlands Regional Council South of the Fitzroy River and the northern boundary of the Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council area; and East of the Duaringa-Baralaba Road including all of the Roxborough Property

Rockhampton Regional Council south of the Capricorn Highway and west of the Bruce Highway.

Sunshine Coast Regional Council north of the Eumundi-Noosa Road, Dean Road, Verrierdale Road, Doonan Bridge East Road and Emu Mountain Road ; and  west of the Bruce Highway.

Gold Coast City Council defined as

Division 5 as identified by the Electoral Commission Queensland; and

East of the Pacific Motorway, north of Stapylton-Jacobs Well Road and west of Alberton Road.

Western Downs Regional Council where the impacts are mainly along the river and stream systems

·                     from the Toowoomba Regional Council boundary, west of the Dalby-Cecil Plains Road, the Warrego Highway in Dalby, the Dalby-Jandowae Road, the Jandowae Connection Road and Wondai Rd; and

·                     From the North Burnett Regional Council boundary, east of the Piggot Road and the Auburn Road, then south of the Warrego Highway; and

·                     East of the Leichardt Highway and the Condamine-Meandarra Road and the Meandarra –Talwood Road to the Goondiwindi Regional Council boundary.

Logan City Council

Toowoomba Regional Council area of the Condamine flood plain that is downstream of the area of Toowoomba Regional Council activated on 12 February 2013.  The boundary description is:

West of the Pittsworth-Tummaville Road to the Gore Highway and then to Brookstead; the Brookstead-Norwin Road, the Toowoomba Cecil Plains Road, the Coggans-Harranes Road and the Tipton-Harranes Road; and

East of the Owens Scrub Road to Millmerran and north of the Gore Highway and east of the Western Downs Regional Council boundary.

This is in addition to the already activated area in the council.

Goondiwindi Regional Council from Mertons Road, south and west of the Magoon Road, the Whetstone Access Road, north of the Cunningham Highway and west of the Bosnjaks Road to the New South Wales border.  This is in addition to the already activated area in the council.

Maps of these part council areas will be made available as soon as possible at  

The 14 local government areas already eligible for Category C recovery grants include:

Banana Shire Council (part), Bundaberg, Fraser Coast, Gladstone Regional Council, Goondiwindi Regional Council (part), Gympie, Ipswich City Council (part), Lockyer Valley, North Burnett Regional Council, Scenic Rim Regional Council, Somerset Regional Council (part), South Burnett Regional Council, Southern Downs Regional Council (part), Toowoomba Regional Council (part).

Details of eligible council areas are available at  


There are no comments yet

Leave a Comment